Rental requirements for SIXT at JFK
John F. Kennedy International Airport
Quick answers
- Can I use a debit card with SIXT at JFK?
- Conditional. Conditional under U.S. rules; airport page does not state a blanket debit yes/no
- How much is the SIXT deposit at JFK?
- Deposit varies. Amount depends on payment method and vehicle.
- Does SIXT at JFK require a return flight?
- Conditional: At airport locations, debit is accepted only with a return flight, train or bus ticket in the renter’s name matching the rental return date and booked at least 24 hours before pickup.
- What is the minimum age to rent from SIXT at JFK?
- 18
Payment
Debit accepted
with conditions
Deposit / hold
Varies
Depends on payment method and vehicle
Return flight
Conditional
Minimum age
18
What you need before pickup
- At airport locations, debit is accepted only with a return flight, train or bus ticket in the renter’s name matching the rental return date and booked at least 24 hours before pickup.
- Valid license + passport/ID; detailed payment rules live in rental information
- Vehicle category can raise minimum age/payment requirements
- 18+; some categories higher; underage fee may apply
See 1 more requirement
- Payment card presented at pickup must be in the main driver's name; SIXT verifies the card against the main driver's license and ID.
See available rental options and prices for your trip.
Compare rental cars at JFK →We may earn a commission if you book through this link.
ID & documents to bring
Driver's license
Valid driver’s license required at pickup.
Passport
Valid license + passport/ID; detailed payment rules live in rental information
Card in renter's name
Payment card presented at pickup must be in the main driver's name; SIXT verifies the card against the main driver's license and ID.
See all ID & document details1 more document requirement · Some details are not published.
International Driving Permit (IDP)
The official sources do not publish a clear answer.
Second ID
The official sources do not publish a clear answer.
Address match
The official sources do not publish a clear answer.
Return / onward travel
At airport locations, debit is accepted only with a return flight, train or bus ticket in the renter’s name matching the rental return date and booked at least 24 hours before pickup.
Additional proof
The official sources do not publish a clear answer.
Local renters
The official sources do not publish a clear answer.
Foreign renters
The official sources do not publish a clear answer.
View 3 official sources
Full rental requirementsPayment, deposit, return travel, age and vehicle restrictions.
- Debit card
- Conditional
Conditional under U.S. rules; airport page does not state a blanket debit yes/no
- Deposit / hold
- Deposit varies
Deposit depends on vehicle/category and payment method
- Return flight
- Conditional
At airport locations, debit is accepted only with a return flight, train or bus ticket in the renter’s name matching the rental return date and booked at least 24 hours before pickup.
- Minimum age
- 18
18+; some categories higher; underage fee may apply
- Credit check
- Not published
- Vehicle restrictions
- Vehicle category can raise minimum age/payment requirements
Compare rental companies at JFK
- Accepted
- Deposit
- Deposit varies
- Alamo U.S. airport policy normally requires return travel for debit; JFK is in a market where Enterprise/National publish special local exceptions, so do not inherit blindly
- Minimum age
- 18
- Return flight
- Conditional
- Accepted
- Deposit
- $200–$300 depending on rental length
- Estimated rental + $200 for 1-3 days; +$300 for 4+ days; prepaid debit hold $250
- Minimum age
- 25
- Return flight
- Conditional
- Accepted
- Deposit
- Pay at counter: up to $200
- Pay-at-counter: estimated rental charges + up to $200; prepaid rate: $250 hold in addition to prepaid amount
- Minimum age
- 18
- Return flight
- Not published
- Accepted
- Deposit
- $600 standard / $850 listed luxury-specialty classes
- $600 for debit/money-order renters without return itinerary; $400 credit-card standard / $850 listed luxury classes
- Minimum age
- 21
- Return flight
- Conditional
- Accepted
- Deposit
- Debit hold: up to $500
- Estimated rental + up to $500 debit authorization; cash-deposit path minimum $200 or 150% of estimated charges
- Minimum age
- 18
- Return flight
- Conditional
- Accepted
- Deposit
- $600 standard / $850 listed luxury-specialty classes
- $600 money-order deposit for disembarking renters; credit-card renters without return itinerary: $400 standard / $850 listed luxury classes
- Minimum age
- 18
- Return flight
- Conditional
- Conditional
- Deposit
- Deposit varies
- Deposit depends on vehicle/category and payment method
- Minimum age
- 18
- Return flight
- Conditional
| Rental company | Debit | Deposit | Return flight | Min age |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alamo | Accepted | Deposit variesAlamo U.S. airport policy normally requires return travel for debit; JFK is in a market where Enterprise/National publish special local exceptions, so do not inherit blindly | Conditional | 18 |
| Avis | Accepted | $200–$300 depending on rental lengthEstimated rental + $200 for 1-3 days; +$300 for 4+ days; prepaid debit hold $250 | Conditional | 25 |
| Budget | Accepted | Pay at counter: up to $200Pay-at-counter: estimated rental charges + up to $200; prepaid rate: $250 hold in addition to prepaid amount | Not published | 18 |
| Enterprise | Accepted | $600 standard / $850 listed luxury-specialty classes$600 for debit/money-order renters without return itinerary; $400 credit-card standard / $850 listed luxury classes | Conditional | 21 |
| Hertz | Accepted | Debit hold: up to $500Estimated rental + up to $500 debit authorization; cash-deposit path minimum $200 or 150% of estimated charges | Conditional | 18 |
| National | Accepted | $600 standard / $850 listed luxury-specialty classes$600 money-order deposit for disembarking renters; credit-card renters without return itinerary: $400 standard / $850 listed luxury classes | Conditional | 18 |
| SIXT | Conditional | Deposit variesDeposit depends on vehicle/category and payment method | Conditional | 18 |
See prices and availability for your trip
Compare rental cars at JFK →We may earn a commission if you book through this link.
Sources & corrections
This source is not specific to the airport location. Confirm local details before pickup.
Please do not include payment-card numbers or personal ID details.
